Tax Increment Finance Zone #1 Board Appointments

Bryan Langley- Deputy City Manager

December 5, 2017



Background:

- The Downtown TIF Board is structured as follows:
- Two Members shall be City Council Members
- Two Members shall be either property owners or residents from within the zone
- Two Members shall be either business owners from within the zone or Chamber of Commerce members and
- One Member has no specific category, but must be a qualified voter in the City of Denton.

Background:

- Ordinance 2010-316 Section 4.a states that "members shall be appointed by City Council"
- Section 4.b states the "City Council shall designate a member of the board to serve as chairman of the board of directors"

Objective:

Present recommendations from the Tax Increment Finance Board for board nominations and Chairperson

Proposed slate:

TIF Board Member	Category	Original Appointment	Present Term
Sara Bagheri	City Council	8/2017	2016-2018
Gerard Hudspeth	City Council	8/2017	2017-2019
Melissa Lenaburg	Property Owner	2/2016	2017-2019
Alex Payne	Property Owner	12/2017	2017-2019
Ben Esely	Business Owner	8/2017	2016-2018
John Lenz	Business Owner	12/2017	2017-2019
Paul Meltzer	Qualified Voter	8/2017	2016-2018

Questions:

