# **City of Denton**



City Hall
215 E. McKinney Street
Denton, Texas
www.cityofdenton.com

# AGENDA INFORMATION SHEET CITY COUNCIL

**DEPARTMENT:** Economic Development

CM/ DCM/ ACM: Bryan Langley

DATE: December 5, 2017

### **SUBJECT**

Consider appointment of three board members for the Downtown Denton TIF Reinvestment Zone No. 1 Board and appoint a Chairperson.

### **BACKGROUND**

On December 7, 2010, City Council adopted an ordinance creating the Tax Increment Financing Reinvestment Zone Number One (Downtown TIF).

On February 1, 2011, City Council appointed the TIF Board Members. Board membership is structured as follows:

- Two Members shall be City Council Members
- Two Members shall be either property owners or residents from within the zone
- Two Members shall be either business owners from within the zone or Chamber of Commerce members and
- One Member has no specific category, but must be a qualified voter in the City of Denton.

Ordinance 2010-316 Section 4.a. states that "members shall be appointed by City Council." Section 4.b. states the "City Council shall designate a member of the board to serve as chairman of the board of directors."

At this time, one current position is eligible for reappointment: Melissa Lenaburg. She has expressed an interest in serving another term, if it pleases the City Council. The TIF Board recommends reappointing Ms. Lenaburg, unless City Council has other recommendations to bring forward (4-0).

Two other positions have termed out, Virgil Strange (owner of property located within the Zone) and Hank Dickenson (member of Denton Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors).

Two people have expressed interest in serving on the Downtown TIF Board: Alex Payne, and John Lenz, both of whom are downtown business owners and property owners within the district. The TIF Board recommends reappointing Ms. Lenaburg, unless City Council has other recommendations to bring forward (4-0).

#### Current Slate

TIF Board Member	Category	Original	Present Term
		Appointment	
Sara Bagheri	City Council	6/2017	2017-2019
Gerard Hudspeth	City Council	6/2017	2017-2019
Melissa Lenaburg	Property Owner	2/2016	2015-2017
Virgil Strange	Property Owner	2/2011	2015-2017
Ben Eseley	Business Owner	8/2017	2016-2018
Hank Dickenson	Chamber of Commerce	2/2011	2015-2017
Paul Meltzer	Qualified Voter	8/2017	2016-2018

## PRIOR ACTION/REVIEW (Council, Boards, Commissions)

11/17/17—The Downtown TIF Board recommends the reappointment of Melissa Lenaburg and the appointment of Alex Payne and John Lenz to the Downtown Tax Increment Finance Board (4-0).

11/17/17—The Downtown TIF Board recommends appointing Melissa Lenaburg as Chairperson to the Downtown Tax Increment Finance Board (4-0).

# STRATEGIC PLAN RELATIONSHIP

The City of Denton's Strategic Plan is an action-oriented road map that will help the City achieve its vision. The foundation for the plan is the five long-term Key Focus Areas (KFA): Organizational Excellence; Public Infrastructure; Economic Development; Safe, Livable, and Family-Friendly Community; and Sustainability and Environmental Stewardship. While individual items may support multiple KFAs, this specific City Council agenda item contributes most directly to the following KFA and goal:

**Related Key Focus Area:** Economic Development

Related Goal: 3.4 Encourage development, redevelopment, recruitment, and retention

### **EXHIBITS**

- 1. AIS
- 2. November 17, 2017 minutes from Downtown TIF Board
- 3. Ordinance #2010-316
- 4. Presentation

Respectfully submitted: Caroline Booth Director of Economic Development

Prepared by: Julie Glover

Economic Development Program Administrator