

Municipal Management Districts

- Municipal Management Districts (MMD)
 - An MMD is a governmental agency and a political subdivision of the State
 - Intended to finance public capital improvements and/or services by imposing property taxes and/or special assessments on property owners within the district
- District Management by Board of Directors
 - Six (6) Directors Management of all district affairs, operation & control of property belonging to the district(s)
 - Five (5) directors are elected by the duly qualified resident voters within the district
 - The City may appoint one (1) additional director per district board
 - Currently two (2) districts Hunter Ranch and Cole Ranch
 - May divide and expand to eight (8) districts in the future (4 per MMD)



Board – City of Denton Appointees

- Disqualifying relationships for potential nominees
 - Cannot hold two public offices of civil emolument
 - Cannot hold two public offices that are incompatible
 - A COD employee would be restricted from voting on most district matters
- Director Qualifications in Local Gov't Code Sec. 375.063 do not apply to City appointee
 - Example: COD appointee does not have to own property in the district
- Disqualifying relationships outlined in section 49.052, Water Code applies to all board members



Board – City of Denton Appointees

- All directors subject to the provisions of Chapter 171, Local Government Code, relating to the regulation of conflicts of interest of officers of local governments
- Existing appointees to the following boards are prohibited from serving on district boards:
 - Board of Ethics
 - Civil Service Commission
 - Denton Housing Authority Board
 - Health and Building Standards Commission
 - Historic Landmark Commission
 - Planning & Zoning Commission
 - Zoning Board of Adjustments



Board – City of Denton Appointees

- The City may appoint one (1) director per district board
 - Hunter Ranch Susan Parker is the current appointee with a term ending June 10,
 2023
 - Cole Ranch Michael Bradshaw is the current appointee with a term ending June 14, 2023
 - New Council appointees will serve a four (4) year term moving forward

