# MINUTES HEALTH AND BUILDING STANDARDS COMMISSION

January 12, 2023

After determining that a quorum was present, the Health and Building Standards Commission of the City of Denton, Texas convened in a Special Called Meeting on Thursday, January 12, 2023, at 3:00 p.m. in Training Rooms 1 and 2 at the Development Service Center, 401 N Elm Street, Denton, Texas at which the following items were considered:

PRESENT: Chair Greg Coward, and Commissioners David Mollen, Nicholas Stevens, and Michael Sweigart

Absent: Vice-Chair Sebastian Delgadillo, and Commissioner Zachary Cathcart

#### SPECIAL CALLED MEETING

Chair Coward opened the meeting at 3:00 p.m.

### 1. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

A. U.S. Flag

B. Texas Flag

## 2. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

A. HBS22-019 Election of a Chair and Vice-Chair.

Commissioner Mollen moved to nominate Commissioner Sweigart as Chair. Motion seconded by Commissioner Stevens. Motion carried.

AYES (4): Chair Coward, Commissioners Mollen, Stevens, and Sweigart

NAYS (0): None.

Commissioner Sweigart moved to nominate Commissioner Stevens as Vice-Chair. Motion seconded by Commissioner Mollen. Motion carried.

AYES (4): Chair Coward, Commissioners Mollen, Stevens, and Sweigart

NAYS (0): None.

B. HBS23-001 Introduction of new Commissioners Nicholas Stevens and Zachary Cathcart.

Commissioner Stevens introduced himself to the Commission. Commissioner Cathcart was not in attendance.

C. HBS22-017 Consider approval of the March 24, 2022, minutes.

Commissioner Sweigart motioned to approve the March 24, 2022, meeting minutes. Motion seconded by Mollen. Motion carried.

AYES (4): Chair Coward, Commissioners Mollen, Stevens, and Sweigart NAYS (0): None.

D. HBS22-018 Consider approval of the 2023 meeting schedule.

The item was presented, no discussion followed.

Commissioner Sweigart motioned to approve the 2023 meeting schedule. Motion seconded by Stevens. Motion carried.

AYES (4): Chair Coward, Commissioners Mollen, Stevens, and Sweigart NAYS (0): None.

#### 3. CONCLUDING ITEMS

 $\mathbf{v}$ 

Commissioner Sweigart moved to adjourn the meeting. Motion seconded by Commissioner Stevens. Motion carried.

AYES (4): Chair Coward, Commissioners Mollen, Stevens, and Sweigart NAYS (0): None.

Chair Coward adjourned the meeting at 3:15 p.m.

| Λ   |      |
|---|------|
| Michael Sweigart                                  | Date |
| Chair of Health and Building Standards Commission |      |
|   |      |
|   |      |
| 37  |      |
| X   |      |
| Cathy Welborn                                     | Date |
| Administrative Assistant III                      |      |