

City of Denton

City Hall 215 E. McKinney Street Denton, Texas www.cityofdenton.com

AGENDA INFORMATION SHEET

DEPARTMENT: Police Department/Public Safety Communications

CM/DCM/ACM: Sara Hensley

DATE: July 22, 2025

SUBJECT

Consider approval of a resolution of the City Council of the City of Denton for the appointment of one member to the Board of Managers of the Denco Area 9-1-1 District for a two-year term beginning on October 1, 2025, and ending on September 30, 2027; and providing an effective date.

BACKGROUND

The Denco Area 9-1-1 District was created in 1987 and is governed by a board of managers appointed by the County, participating cities, and the Denton County Fire Chief's Association. Each year, the term of one of the two members appointed by participating municipalities expires. This year, the term of Sue Tejml expires on September 30, 2025. Ms. Tejml is not seeking reelection. Board member serve in two-year staggered terms and are eligible for reappointment.

On June 2, 2025 the City received notice (Exhibit 2) from Denco requesting that the City vote for one of the nominees on the slate of nominees and advise them of its selection, if any, prior to July 31, 2025. Two nominees for the position were submitted by area cities. The nominees are John Smith, Jr. and Steve Southwell. The resumes of the nominees are included in Exhibit 2. The nominee with the most votes will be the municipalities' representative to the District's Board of Managers for the two-year term beginning October 1, 2025.

OPTIONS

Elect Candidate John Smith, Jr., nominated by City of The Colony, Town of Hickory Creek, and Town of Shady Shores

Elect Candidate Steve Southwell, nominated by City of Lewisville

FISCAL INFORMATION

None

EXHIBITS

Exhibit 1 – Agenda Information Sheet – Denco Area 9-1-1 Board of Managers (2025)

Exhibit 2 – Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Manager Voting Packet (2025)

Exhibit 3 – Letter to Denco Municipalities (2025)

- Exhibit 4 Resolution Denco Defining Procedure for Appointment (2025)
- Exhibit 5 Resolution Denco Area 9-1-1 Board of Managers (2025)

Exhibit 6 - Presentation - Denco Area 9-1-1 Board of Managers (2025)

Respectfully submitted: Jessica Robledo Chief of Police

Prepared by: Suzanne Kaletta Assistant Director Public Safety Communications