City of Denton



City Hall 215 E. McKinney Street Denton, Texas www.cityofdenton.com

AGENDA INFORMATION SHEET

DEPARTMENT: Economic Development

ACM/CFO: Christine Taylor, Assistant City Manager

DATE: May 6, 2025

SUBJECT

Consider appointments to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Two (Westpark TIRZ) Board of Directors.

BACKGROUND

On December 17, 2012, the City Council adopted an Ordinance No. 2012-366 designating and describing the boundaries of Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Two (Westpark TIRZ) to provide the public infrastructure necessary to encourage development in the largest industrially zoned area in the City.

Current TIRZ No. Two Board Structure

The TIRZ board is comprised of 14 members. The City Council appoints 12 members, which is comprised of the Economic Development Partnership Board (EDPB). The governing body of Denton County, which levies taxes on real property in TIRZ Number Two, appointed one board member, John Withers. Rayzor Investments LLP, the "Developer," appointed Selwyn Rayzor.

The 14 Westpark TIRZ board members serve two-year terms and may serve as many as three terms. The board consists of the members in the chart below.

Member	Seat
Tony Clark	At-Large
Paul Meltzer**	City Council
Gerard Hudspeth	City Council
Lee Ramsey	Denton Chamber Board of Directors
Jeremy Fykes	Denton Chamber Board of Directors
Steve Edgar	Top 20 Taxpayer
Brian Danhof	Top 20 Taxpayer
Jason Tomlinson*	TWU President/Chancellor /Designee
Aaron Roberts*	UNT President/Designee
Vacant	Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
Kerry Goree	Denton Black Chamber of Commerce
Rick Woolfolk	Aviation

Member	Seat
Selwyn Rayzor*	Developer
John Withers	Denton County
Ex-Officio	
Erin Carney	Denton Chamber President
Sara Hensley	City Manager
Susannah O'Bara	DISD Superintendent

^{*}The Developer, President of UNT and the Chancellor/President of TWU or his/her designee are not restricted to the three-term limit. However, the university members must be reappointed by City Council for each term.

On May 6, 2025, City Council will consider the following appointments to EDPB:

New Appointments

- Ron Crockett, Top 20 Taxpayer
 - o This would be Mr. Crockett's first term.
- Jeremy Fykes, At-large
 - o This would be Mr. Fykes' second term.
- Leo Morales, Hispanic Business Representative, BCI Mechanical
 - o This would be Mr. Morales' first term.
- Aimee Bissett, Denton Chamber of Commerce Board of Representatives
 - o This would be Ms. Bisset's first term.

Reappointments

- Lee Ramsey, Denton Chamber Board of Directors
 - o This would be Mr. Ramsey's third term.
- Jason Tomlinson, TWU President/Chancellor/Designee
 - This position is not restricted to three terms.
- Selwyn Rayzor, Developer
 - This position is not restricted to three terms.

Through these appointments, the members were also made concurrent members of the Westpark TIRZ Board. Council action will confirm those EDPB members as Westpark TIRZ Board members. Steve Edgar and Tony Clark completed their third consecutive term on the Board making them ineligible for reappointment. Jimmy Mejia, the Denton Hispanic Chamber of Commerce representative, completed his third consecutive term in FY 2022/23 and served in hold-over status until August 2024, the seat has remained vacant since that time.

The members noted in green above, Selwyn Rayzor and John Withers, were appointed by the Developer and Denton County, respectively.

PRIOR ACTION/REVIEW (Council, Boards, Commissions)

May 6, 2025: The Denton City Council made appointments to the Economic Development Partnership Board.

September 17, 2024: The Denton City Council made an appointment of John Withers as the Westpark TIRZ Number Two Board Denton County representative.

^{**}Denotes member filled an unexpired term

RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends confirmation of those EDPB members as Westpark TIRZ Number Two Board member appointments and reappoint the developer representative, Selwyn Rayzor.

EXHIBITS
1 - Agenda Information Sheet

Respectfully submitted: Erica Sullivan Economic Development Program Administrator