# **City of Denton Charter Review Committee**

After determining that a quorum was present, the Charter Review Committee of the City of Denton, Texas convened in a meeting on Thursday, July 25, 2024, at 5:37 p.m. in Training Rooms 3-5 at the Development Service Center, 401 N. Elm Street, Denton, Texas.

**PRESENT**: Kristine Bray, Angela Brewer-Isma, Brian Danhof, Jesse Davis, Jeremy Fykes, Nate Johnson, Michelle Jones, Gabriel Kirkpatrick, Weaver McClure, Lesly Molina Poer, Peter Mungiguerra, Julie Remski, Margarita Venegas, Jane Zygiel.

#### 1. PRESENTATIONS FROM MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

There were no presentations from the public.

#### 2. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

- A. CRC24-001 Welcome remarks and introductions of committee members and staff members.
- B. CRC24-002 Receive a report and hold a discussion regarding the creation and purpose of the Charter Review Committee, and a review of the Denton City Charter and Committee Charges.

The item was presented, and discussion followed.

C. CRC24-003 Receive nominations and hold an election of a Chair and Chair Pro Tem.

Peter Mungiguerra moved to nominate Kristine Bray for Chair; motion seconded by Gabriel Kirkpatrick. Motion failed.

AYES (6): Bray, Molina Poer, Mungiguerra, Brewer-Isma, Kirkpatrick, Venegas

NAYS (8): Fykes, Remski, Davis, Jones, Johnson, Danhof, McClure, Zygiel

ABSENT (0):

Weaver McClure moved to nominate Jesse Davis for Chair; motion seconded by Jeremy Fykes. Motion failed.

AYES (7): Fykes, Remski, Davis, Jones, Johnson, Danhof, McClure

NAYS (7): Bray, Molina Poer, Mungiguerra, Brewer-Isma, Kirkpatrick, Venegas, Zygiel

ABSENT (0): None.

Jane Zygiel moved to nominate Michelle Jones for Chair; motion seconded by Julie Remski. Motion failed.

AYES (5): Fykes, Remski, Jones, Zygiel, Danhof

NAYS (9): Bray, Molina Poer, Mungiguerra, Brewer-Isma, Davis, Kirkpatrick, Johnson, McClure, Venegas,

ABSENT (0): None.

Weaver McClure moved to nominate Michelle Jones for Chair Pro Tem; motion seconded by Julie Remski. Motion carried.

AYES (8): Fykes, Bray, Remski, Davis, Jones, Danhof, Zygiel, McClure

NAYS (6): Molina Poer, Mungiguerra, Brewer-Isma, Kirkpatrick, Johnson, Venegas

#### ABSENT (0): None.

Committee discussion regarding Chair nominations and agreement to complete a second round of voting for Chair.

Peter Mungiguerra moved to nominate Kristine Bray for Chair; motion seconded by Gabriel Kirkpatrick. Motion failed.

AYES (7): Bray, Molina Poer, Mungiguerra, Brewer-Isma, Kirkpatrick, Johnson, Venegas

NAYS (7): Fykes, Remski, Davis, Jones, Zygiel, Danhof, McClure

ABSENT (0): None.

Weaver McClure moved to nominate Jesse Davis for Chair; motion seconded by Jeremy Fykes. Motion failed.

AYES (7): Fykes, Remski, Davis, Jones, Zygiel, Danhof, McClure

NAYS (7): Bray, Molina Poer, Mungiguerra, Brewer-Isma, Kirkpatrick, Johnson, Venegas

ABSENT (0): None.

Committee discussion and agreement to move forward with the Chair Pro Tem and hold another election for the Chair position at the next meeting.

## D. CRC24-004 Review committee procedures, schedule, and housekeeping items.

The item was presented, and discussion followed.

### 3. CONCLUDING ITEMS

Members provided concluding items.  With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:37 p.m.	
Michelle Jones	Kristi Fogle
Chair Pro Tem	Recording Secretary
MINUTES APPROVED ON:	