

Denco Area 9-1-1 District

1075 Princeton Street • Phone: 972-221-0911 •

Lewisville, TX 75067

Fax: 972-420-0709
 DENCO.ORG

TO: Denco Area 9-1-1 District Participating Municipal Jurisdictions

FROM: Greg Ballentine, Executive Director

DATE: June 2, 2025

RE: Appointment to the Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers

On April 1, 2025, the Denco Area 9-1-1 District requested municipalities to nominate a representative to the district board of managers for the two-year term beginning October 1, 2025. Denco received the following nominations by the May 30, 2025 deadline:

<u>Nominee</u>	City/Town Making Nomination
John Smith, Jr.	City of The Colony Town of Hickory Creek Town of Shady Shores
Steve Southwell	City of Lewisville
Sue Tejml	City of Oak Point Town of Copper Canyon

Sue Tejml has withdrawn from consideration due to mobility challenges and requests that her name be removed from the ballot.

The Denco Area 9-1-1 District requests that each municipality vote for either John Smith or Steve Southwell and advise the district of its selection by **5 p.m. on July 31, 2025**. No votes will be accepted after that time. If a nominating municipality does not formally vote, it's nomination will automatically count as a vote for its nominee. Please send a copy of the resolution recording council action. We have provided candidate resumes and a list of current Denco board members.

Please send a copy of your council's official action to the Denco Area 9-1-1 District, 1075 Princeton Street, Lewisville, TX 75067 or to Melinda Camp at <u>melinda.camp@denco.org</u>. We will acknowledge receipt of all votes.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Contact

john.smith@hickorycreek-tx.gov

www.linkedin.com/in/jmsmithjr (LinkedIn)

Top Skills

Strategic Planning Proven Leadership Community Partnership Development

John M. Smith Jr

Town Manager | Executive Director of Economic Development Corporation Hickory Creek, TX

Public Service Experience

Town of Hickory Creek

- Town Manager May 2015 Present
- Executive Director of Economic Development Corporation
 May 2015 Present
- Mayor 2006-2015
- Councilmember 2002-2006

Professional Experience

- Peterbilt Motors
- Home Interior and Gifts
- United Parcel Service

Certifications

- Certified Public Manager
- Code Enforcement Officer
- Stormwater Inspector

Community Involvement

- Lake Dallas Independent School District Educational Improvement Committee.
- North Central Texas Economic Development District Board.
- Boy Scouts of America Eagle Scout

Education

Dallas Baptist University, Bachelor of Science

Steve Southwell

Principal Consultant | Civic Leader | U.S. Marine Corps Veteran

Contact: steve@lewisvilleparkalliance.org 214-280-6439 -

995 Downey Dr., Lewisville TX 75067

Stephen "Steve" Southwell is a Principal Consultant with Progress Software Corporation, where he brings over 25 years of experience specializing in secure, transactional online database systems. His career has focused on designing and maintaining systems that are highly reliable, scalable, and resilient — with particular emphasis on



performance, maintainability, and, above all, security. He has supported critical IT infrastructure for clients across sectors such as telecommunications, healthcare, insurance, manufacturing, and financial services.

Steve began his career in 1996 as a software developer working with the Progress (now OpenEdge) platform and has grown into a trusted technical advisor, contributing to open-source projects and leading modernization initiatives. With more than two decades of continuous service through the evolution of firms like Turnaround Computing, BravePoint, and Thomson Reuters, Steve's expertise lies in building systems that organizations depend on when precision and uptime are non-negotiable.

A Lewisville resident since 1999, Steve has a long record of local public service. He has been appointed to numerous city boards, including the Arts Advisory Board, Oil and Gas Advisory Board (Chairman), Vision 2025 Committee, and three terms on the Charter Review Commission. He served on the Blue Ribbon Bond Committee, which received the 2024 Spirit of Lewisville Award for its work on major city investment initiatives.

His civic engagement also includes education and neighborhood advocacy. Steve served on several Lewisville ISD committees, including the Strategic Design Committee, and was a board member of the Central Park Area Neighbors Association, helping negotiate mineral rights for hundreds of households. From 2015 to 2018, he published the *Lewisville Texan Journal*, an award-winning newspaper focused on civic transparency and local accountability.

Steve holds a Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of North Texas and served in the U.S. Marine Corps Reserve from 1989 to 1995, attaining the rank of Sergeant as a tank mechanic. He is a graduate of the Lewisville Citizen Police and Citizen Fire Academies and currently serves as treasurer on the board of Lewisville Park Alliance, a nonprofit that supports the city's park system and provides educational and recreational access to local youth. He also volunteers with Keep Lewisville Beautiful, where his wife Jennifer is a board member.

A firm believer in servant leadership, Steve values transparent, accountable, and fiscally responsible government. He promotes a nonpartisan, cooperative approach to civic leadership, where differing viewpoints are welcomed and unified under shared goals.

Steve and his wife of 30 years, Jennifer, raised their two sons in Lewisville. In his free time, he enjoys amateur radio, motorcycles, and walking the city's trail system. He plays cornet in the Old Town Brass community band.

Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers FY2025

Bill Lawrence, Chairman

- Appointed by Denton County Commissioners Court
- Member since October 2006
- Term expires September 2025
- Former Mayor of Highland Village
- Businessman, Highland Village

Sue Tejml, Vice Chair

- Appointed by member cities in Denton County
- Member since 2013
- Term expires September 2025
- Former Mayor of Copper Canyon
- Attorney at Law, Copper Canyon

Jim Carter, Secretary

- Appointed by member cities in Denton County
- Member since October 2014
- Term expires September 2026
- Former President of Emergency Services District #1
- Former Mayor of Trophy Club and Denton County Commissioner

Jason Cole

- Appointed by Denton County Commissioners Court
- Member since October 2020
- Term expires September 2026
- Businessman, Denton

Chief Eric Schlotter

- Appointed by the Denton County Fire Chiefs Association
- Member since October 2024
- Term expires September 2025
- Fire Chief, City of Aubrey

All voting members serve two-year terms and are eligible for re-appointment.