# **City of Denton**



City Hall 215 E. McKinney Street Denton, Texas www.cityofdenton.com

# **AGENDA INFORMATION SHEET**

**DEPARTMENT:** Economic Development

**ACM/CFO:** Christine Taylor, Assistant City Manager

**DATE:** June 3, 2025

# **SUBJECT**

Consider appointment of a Board Chair to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number Two Board of Directors.

# **BACKGROUND**

On December 17, 2012, the City Council adopted an Ordinance No. 2012-366 designating and describing the boundaries of Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone (TIRZ) Number Two to provide the public infrastructure necessary to encourage development in the largest industrially zoned area in the City.

#### Current TIRZ No. Two Board Structure

The TIRZ board is comprised of 14 members. The City Council appoints 12 members, which is comprised of the Economic Development Partnership Board (EDPB). The governing body of Denton County, which levies taxes on real property in TIRZ Number Two, appointed one board member, John Withers. Rayzor Investments LLP, the "Developer," appointed Selwyn Rayzor.

The 14 Westpark TIRZ board members serve two-year terms and may serve as many as three terms. The board consists of the members in the chart below.

Member	Seat
Paul Meltzer	City Council
Gerard Hudspeth	City Council
Lee Ramsey	Denton Chamber Board of Directors
Aimee Bissett	Denton Chamber Board of Directors
Brian Danhof	Top 20 Taxpayer
Ron Crockett	Top 20 Taxpayer
Jason Tomlinson*	TWU President/Chancellor /Designee
Aaron Roberts*	UNT President/Designee
Leo Morales	Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
Kerry Goree	Denton Black Chamber of Commerce
Clyde Rick Woolfolk	Aviation
Jeremy Fykes	At-Large
Member	Seat
Selwyn Rayzor*	Developer

John Withers	Denton County
Ex-Officio	
Erin Carney	Denton Chamber President
Sara Hensley	City Manager
Susannah O'Bara	DISD Superintendent

<sup>\*</sup>The Developer, President of UNT and the Chancellor/President of TWU or his/her designee are not restricted to the three-term limit. However, the university members must be reappointed by City Council for each term.

At the May 6, 2025 City Council meeting, Council made appointments to the EDPB. Through these appointments, the members were also made concurrent members of the Westpark TIRZ Board. A board Chair could not be recommended at the time of the May 6, 2025 meeting, as the EDPB had not met to appoint a Chair. The recommendation of the EDPB Chair for the Westpark TIRZ Chair has been recommended to help streamline the process and efficiency of the two boards. At the May 14, 2025 EDPB meeting, the board nominated Brian Danhof as the Board Chair. According to 311.009(f) of the Texas Tax Code, the governing body of the municipality of county shall appoint the chairperson to the TIRZ Board of Directors. Council action will appoint the Board Chair to the TIRZ Number Two.

# PRIOR ACTION/REVIEW (Council, Boards, Commissions)

May 6, 2025: The Denton City Council made appointments to the Economic Development Partnership Board and the TIRZ Number Two Board.

May 14, 2025: The Economic Development Partnership Board nominated Brian Danhof as the Board Chair.

# **RECOMMENDATION**

Staff recommends appointment of Brian Danhof as Board Chair of the TIRZ Number Two Board of Directors.

### **EXHIBITS**

Exhibit 1 – Agenda Information Sheet

Respectfully submitted: Erica Sullivan Economic Development Program Administrator

Prepared By: Matilda Weeden Economic Development Specialist